The Church of St. Stephen consists of a Chance! 11’l” by 7’9”, a Nave 36’ by 20’3”, a small West Tower 6’ square, and a South Vestry. The walls of the Nave belonged to the original 12th Century building, but they have been entirely replaced and later windows have been added.
The Easternmost of the two South side windows of the Nave is of a 15th Century date, and has two cinque-foiled lights, each under a square head with a moulded label. The other Nave windows are modern copies set in old jambs.
The Plate, which is never in the
Church except during Eucharist, consists of a silver chalice and cover-paten of
1681 and a silver flagon of 1788 given in 1833 by James Blatch, DD., Vicar, and
a silver alms plate of 1792 also given by Dr. Blatch in 1846.
The earliest Register contains all
entries from 1695 to 1812, except the marriages which stop at 1750. The second
book records the marriages to 1812.
The Tapestry, depicting The Life of Christ, was worked in cross stitch by Ladies of the Village, and the bells rung at Noon on January 1st. 2000, to welcome the New Millennium